The Atheist Challenge.

A sincere atheist challenged me to live the life of an unbeliever for just one month. In return, he would live the life of a Christian. The rule is that each person has to be open-minded to the fact that he may be wrong in his beliefs. The Christian is not to read the Bible, and he’s not to go to church. The atheist will in turn read the Bible and go to church.

While I appreciate the kind gesture, it really illustrates that we Christians have a communication problem with some people. It’s completely our fault. We haven’t made the issue clear. So I’m going to try to make it very understandable. I will repeat and deliberately emphasize it, so that it hits the target. In doing this I risk sounding sarcastic. If that’s how it comes across, I apologize.

A Christian is someone who knows the Lord. Let me repeat that. Christians know the Lord. Actually know Him. Experientially. They know a Person, not a lifestyle. I’m talking about the God of the universe. They know Him.

I will now personalize this, but I am speaking on behalf of everyone who knows the Lord. I don’t “believe” that He exists. I know Him. Personally. I have a living relationship with the Creator. I talk to Him through prayer, and He guides me though His Word and by His Holy Spirit. I have known the Lord since April 25, 1972, at 1:30 in the morning.

Perhaps I’m not making myself clear, so I will try an analogy. It’s like actually knowing someone. Personally. It’s like having a friendship with Him—a 24-hour-a-day, 365-days-a-year, intimate relationship. Therefore, it is self-evident that I can’t live for a month being open to not knowing Him. All the so-called “mistakes” in the Bible can’t change that fact. All the hypocrisy committed by religious people in the past can’t change it. All the atheists on God’s earth saying that He doesn’t exist doesn’t change it in the slightest. Darwin’s theory can’t change it. The storms of this life can’t change it. If I get cancer and die a horrible death, it doesn’t change the fact that I know the Lord. I not only know Him, but I love Him. I love Him with all of my heart, soul, mind, and strength. He is my life. He’s my joy, my Creator, my Savior, my Lord, and my God.

My earnest hope and prayer is that you would soften your sinful hearts, and repent and trust Jesus Christ, so that you too can testify to the unchanging truth that “This is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent” (John 17:3).

Hosea 2:20 I will betroth you to Me in faithfulness,
And you shall know the Lord.

Discover the Evidence Bible.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Atheist Challenge.

  1. Jerome Danner says:

    I really enjoyed this blog! God bless you!

  2. Susan says:

    Beautifully expressed…I want to and will remember your words…recently someone close to me said she has “never not believed that God exists”…but she lives with her boyfriend…had a child with him….does not want to read the Bible nor does she want to attend church because she doesn’t see how that could make a difference in her life…I’m often at a loss for words and I know I need to make more of an effort to learn how to express and communicate my own faith in Christ.

  3. This is perfect and clearly communicated! Thank You Ray! I’m going to post this on our WordPress site!
    I received a disturbing call that my Dad who lives in Ventura, County where I was raised, was going to be admitted into hospice. My entire family is unsaved, and my sister is in charge of his medical. A pastor told him at 9 years of age 79 years ago once saved always saved after he made an altar call.
    He kept that secret to himself until I became born again at the age of 50 just a couple of years ago. I could not wait to share with my Dad and family!
    When my Dad told me his testimony I had to think back and I never saw any evidence he was a follower of Jesus! He thinks it’s okay to go to his daily VFW to sit there daily until he is so enibrieated he is driven home by his care taker and his wife joins in the same routine then put to bed.
    My heart was so broken when I found out and my Husband and I witnessed to him several times! He said he was good that he believed! We all have been praying for mercy on his soul! Once he passes into death he will be in the midst of burning flames and sulfur and agonizing tourture for rejecting God and being so deceived! Jesus bought us at a high price! He died and shed His pure innocent blood for us after being crucified by organized religion! He willingly took our punishment so we do not have to! He is the free Christmas Gift to mankind who keeps rejecting Him! YOU do not realize that Jesus owns YOU! You are His property whether you like it or not! But Eternity is Forever! My Husband and I will be with Jesus in Heaven! We accepted His calling and Surrendered our lives to Him because He died for us!
    The bible says if YOU reject Him and you die, the unbearable agonizing torture you will endure in the flames of fire in total darkness for all of eternity will make YOU wish you had never been born! If You have not cried out to Jesus, and surrender your life and trust onto Him, do it now before You die then it will be too late!
    My Dad and family is facing Eternity Damned forever! http://NeedGod.com

Leave a Reply

