God is God.

“Why are we afraid to declare that people in our churches must come to know God Himself? Why do we not tell them that they must get beyond the point of making God a lifeboat for their rescue or a ladder to get them out of a burning building? How can we help our people get over the idea that God exists just to help run their businesses or fly their airplanes?

“God is not a railway porter who carries your suitcase and serves you. God is God. He made heaven and earth. He holds the world in His hand. He measures the dust of the earth in the balance. He spreads the sky out like a mantle. He is the great God Almighty. He is not your servant.” A. W. Tozer

Isaiah 40:12 Who has measured the waters in the hollow of His hand, Measured heaven with a span And calculated the dust of the earth

Get your own copy of The Evidence Bible.

This entry was posted in Quotes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God is God.

  1. J. Pat Lamb says:

    I sometimes think that being raised in church was a blessing and a hindrance. I got used to hearing God’s name and came to understand the gift of Jesus early in my life. But I also grew callous towards God at times…and I think it was because I never understood the disease of my sin that I might appreciate the cure of salvation. And so I grew up knowing about God without truly knowing Him. And, too, I grew up in a climate of prosperity beliefs; if my faith were sufficient, God would bless me with success. As well, I was raised to believe that with an errant thought, I could lose my salvation. To not know the true nature of sin is to be positioned for a lifetime of spiritual frustration. I still struggle today to understand this great God, His Son, and His Spirit. But I do understand I’ve violated God’s law and I’m clinging hard to salvation…to the parachute Ray describes. Christ in me; my only hope of glory!

  2. Nettie says:

    Amen 🙂 well said

Leave a Reply

